

Building Bright Futures State Advisory Council (BBF SAC) Meeting Minutes February 26, 2024 (Via Zoom)

SAC Members Present: Meg Porcella, Janet McLaughlin, Jessica Vintinner, Xusana Davis, Cheryle Wilcox, Senator Ruth Hardy, Representative Jessica Brumsted, Dimitri Garder, Eddie Gale, Carol Lang-Godin, Libby Daghlian

Absent: Flor Diaz Smith, Sharron Harrington, Alexis Duquette, Paul Dragon, Mike McRaith, Aryka Radke, Kendal Smith, Ilisa Stalberg, Renee Kelly, Becca Webb, Christy Swenson, Shayla Livingston

Community Partners/Guests: Teri Hata, Siobhan Long, Sandra Graves, Didi Harris, Breena Holmes, Deb Hartswick, Jen Fortman, Janet Kilburn, Matt Levin, Amber Hewston, Evan Delgado, Emily Merrill, Sarah Morrison, Ginger Driscoll, Debra Vescio, Amaryah Pendlebury, Nicole DiDomenico, Erin Gagne, Patti Banghart, Erica McLaughlin, Tiffany North-Reid, Lauren Eicher, Ella Bankert

Staff present: Beth Truzansky, Kate Bailey, Katie Mobbs, Anna Brouillette, Kelly Hayes, Michelle Kersey, Courtney Hillhouse, Dora Levinson, Linda Michniewicz, Valerie Wood, Jenn Schollmeyer, Darla Senecal

This meeting was recorded and that recording can be found here

Welcome & Introductions

- 1. Welcome, mindful moment, review agenda
- 2. Opening connection in pairs

3. SAC General Business

a. January 2024 SAC Meeting Minutes

Motion to approve January 22, 2024, minutes made by Janet McLaughlin, with a second by Dimitri Garder. There are no opposed, Meg Porcella and Ruth Hardy abstained from the vote. All members voted in favor of approving January 22, 2024 minutes

b. Presentation of SAC Membership nominations

The SAC has 23 voting members and 3 non-voting members representing a cross-section of accomplished professionals and family representatives committed to improving child and family well-being. Beth Truzansky, Deputy Director, presented the nominees on behalf of the nominating committee and will be voted on in March.. The slate includes:

- Becca Webb who represents Regional Act 166 (serving 2nd term through 2027)
- Eddie Gale of the A.D. Henderson Foundation (serving 2nd term through 2027)

There are 4 new nominations:

- Danielle Lindley Mitchell- nominated to serve a one year term, completing the term served by Heather Wilcoxon to represent the mental health sector
- Amber Hewston- nominated to serve a full 3 year term to represent families
- Erica McLaughlin- nominated to serve a full 3 year term to fill the Vermont Principals Association seat
- Dr. Debra Hartswick- nominated to serve a full 3 year term to represent medical services
- There is one additional seat open representing economic security currently in recruitment.

c. Presentation of BBF Executive Committee nominations

Beth then presented the slate of executive committee members. Current membership includes: Ilisa Stalberg, Flor Diaz Smith, Becca Webb, Renee Kelly, and Christy Swenson. Renee Kelly is finishing her second term and will continue to serve ex-officio as the CDD grant manager to BBF. Janet McLaughlin will step in to fill this seat starting 4/1/24.

4. Network Spotlight: Engaging Family Leaders in the Early Childhood System

Tanya LaChapelle and Families and Communities Committee Parent Co-Chairs, Sarah Morrison and Jen Fortman presented about activities the committee is doing to engage families and support their leadership development in the early childhood system. More is shared in this recently published blog post.

5. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 2:30pm.

Next Meeting- Monday March 26, 2024 1:30-3:00 | via Zoom