The Building Bright Futures (BBF) State Advisory Council (SAC) works to establish key indicators of success in the lives of young children and their families, and establish a means for regularly collecting, analyzing, and reporting this data. From this data they develop a strategic plan to address key needs and ongoing issues in the system of early care, health, and education directed toward improving outcomes.

Building Bright Futures State Advisory Council Executive Committee

  • Kim Keiser, At Large
  • Reeva Murphy, Co-Chair
  • Betsy Rathbun-Gunn, Co-Chair
  • Aly Richards, At Large
  • David Young, Treasurer

State Government

  • Ben Allen Head Start Collaboration Office/Department for Children & Families
  • Charlie Biss, Designee for Deputy Commissioner, Department of Mental Health
  • Vacant, Agency of Education
  • Dr. Breena Holmes, Designee for Commissioner, Vermont Department of Health
  • Kenneth Jones, Designee for Secretary, Agency of Commerce & Community Development 
  • Martha Maksym, Agency of Human Services
  • Reeva Murphy, Designee for Commissioner, Department for Children & Families and BBF SAC Co-Chair

Vermont State Legislature

  • Michael Mrowicki (Vermont House)
  • Richard Westman (Vermont Senate)

At Large Members

  • Donna Bailey, Addison County Parent Child Center
  • Julie Cadwallader Staub, MSW, Grant Director, Early Learning Challenge/Race to the Top Grant for Vermont
  • Eddie Gale, A.D. Henderson Foundation and BBF SAC Secretary
  • Nicole Grenier, Owner, Stowe Street Cafe
  • Kim Keiser, Vermont Project Director, Turrell Fund
  • Chloe Learey, Executive Director, Winston Prouty Center for Child Development 
  • Kristen Mason, Board member, North County Union High School
  • Emily Merrill, Policy Council Chair for Champlain Valley Head Start
  • Betsy Rathbun-Gunn, Early Education Services-Head Start, United Counseling Services of Bennington County and BBF SAC Co-Chair
  • Aly Richards, CEO, The Permanent Fund
  • Stacy Weinberger, Member, State Board of Education
  • David Young, South Burlington School District and BBF SAC Treasurer